Alla inlägg den 21 januari 2009

Av Judie - 21 januari 2009 22:11

The lyrics to R.E.M.'s "Nightswimming" are about as beautiful as many of Sting's, and that's about as big a compliments get around here!


Nightswimming deserves a quiet night.
The photograph on the dashboard, taken years ago,
Turned around backwards so the windshield shows.
Every streetlight reveals the picture in reverse.
Still, its so much clearer.
I forgot my shirt at the waters edge.
The moon is low tonight.

Nightswimming deserves a quiet night.
Im not sure all these people understand.
Its not like years ago,
The fear of getting caught,
Of recklessness and water.
They cannot see me naked.
These things, they go away,
Replaced by everyday.

Nightswimming, remembering that night.
Septembers coming soon.
Im pining for the moon.
And what if there were two
Side by side in orbit
Around the fairest sun?
That bright, tight forever drum
Could not describe nightswimming.

You, I thought I knew you.
You I cannot judge.
You, I thought you knew me,
This one laughing quietly underneath my breath.
Nightswimming.

The photograph reflects,
Every streetlight a reminder.
Nightswimming deserves a quiet night, deserves a quiet night.

/borrowed from www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/rem/nightswimming.html


One of my fondest memories from my first year in Sweden is going skinnydipping in a small pond out in the woods not far from where my (ex)boyfriend lived. It's one of those things I think everyone should do at least once before they die.

Av Judie - 21 januari 2009 17:27

Something I read in a newspaper many years ago - it was a 5-year-old's answer to the question, "What is time?" And rarely have I read anything that was SO true!


Just writing some e-mails while my son is watching a Superman DVD. My daughter is downstairs watching TV. And now that we've been doing this for about half an hour, I am starting to hear the tick-tick-tick of my mental clock telling me to hurry, hurry, hurry as it is time to get some dinner, dinner, dinner (And luckily enough we are serving leftovers again, otherwise it would have been code red by this point!).


And this is where Supermom comes in - I must focus, gather my strength, and above all be innovative enough to figure out a plan that includes food, dishes, laundry, showers, homework - and getting to my Body Balance class on time; since I'm the instructor* it's sort of hard to blow it off.


*Thank God, otherwise I'd never get there...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards