Direktlänk till inlägg 19 februari 2009

Fear is a feeling. I am not my feelings...

Av Judie - 19 februari 2009 20:21

...unless I am being chased by a bear.


Which doesn't happen too often. What has happened again is that when I got on my mat to do my practice, my fear came back. Since I have a level 2-3 class on Sunday I decided to give level 3  a try for the first time since my operation.


I am becoming aware of the fact that the feeling I perceive to be fear is many times nothing more than a whiny voice in my head that doesn't like feeling discomfort and stiffness. The voice doesn't like failure either, as though not being able to do an asana fully after a monthlong pause is the same as failing.


I sort of like this challenge as I am coming to terms with it. I can listen to the whiny voice and then respond by asking myself if I can just keep breathing, just continue through this moment. I tried listening to the voice to see if I needed to back off, and wasn't "afraid" to use Child's pose when I needed it. I used what my teacher Josephine taught me about building up to an asana (position) step by step. I reminded myself about the "universal principles of alignment" used in Anusara yoga which simply meant keeping my energy activated.


I remind myself of what I do know, that is the basics, rather than obsess about worst case scenarios. I accept that I am in the process of coming back into my practice, and at the same time, as always, I notice that my path is once again changing.


Maybe if I can keep on being more accepting towards my practice, eventually I will be more accepting towards the people and things that drive me crazy off the mat as well?


Nirvana??

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Judie - 20 februari 2009 19:25

I've moved my blog to:   http://yogamammaexhales.blogspot.com/   Hope to see you there!! :-) Judie ...

Av Judie - 18 februari 2009 22:52

Today has been a tough day.   I've been provoked, and even though I knew what was coming, after 2½ hours I cracked. Not very yogic.   I had my first Body Balance class in two months, and as expected, I'm not exactly at my peak. Still I feel f...

Av Judie - 17 februari 2009 20:33

I love living in Sweden. And there's a lot in the U.S. that could stand improvement. Remember that as you keep reading my short list of complaints.   Or actually read about my one big complaint:   This morning as I was brushing the snow off my ca...

Av Judie - 16 februari 2009 20:51

Right now I am feeling almost too tired to get out of my chair. This is typical right after putting the kids to bed. I remember it being very important to my husband and me that our children got to bed early every evening (8 P.M.) so that we could ha...

Av Judie - 15 februari 2009 21:21

If my yoga session yesterday was anything but enjoyable, today I felt a huge difference. It was still not easy by any means, but my flow was back. My breath and movement were in unison. And my abs were able to stabilize my lower back. It's like I...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards