Alla inlägg den 30 januari 2009

Av Judie - 30 januari 2009 13:48

Saw the number in my ringing cell phone's display and couldn't believe it. I had just seconds before tried tracking down a former colleague in the hopes of getting some info, but now the person I've been worrying about is calling me himself.


The person I am referring to is one of my dearest friends, not that we ever get together in our spare time; rather we talk to each other every working day. If we happen to be in the same town we try to plan our schedules so that we can meet, even if it's just for a cup of coffee.


We talk, but most of all we laugh.


And today was the first time I'd talked to him in two weeks. He's into his third battle with cancer, and his latest liver operation has proven to be a failure. What the options are? Won't know until next week. The least of several (if even that many) evils, I presume.


Hopefully at this time next Friday I'll be at his home drinking a hot cup of coffee.


And we'll talk about something that will make us both laugh.

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards