Direktlänk till inlägg 22 januari 2009

FREE beauty tips

Av Judie - 22 januari 2009 22:09

I met a woman while working today. She is an OT who works at a school for physically and mentally challenged youths. She's somewhere in her forties, with a fresh hairdo, sleek boots, and pretty cool green/yellow eyeliner that looked great on her.


We were trying out a new wheelchair back system for a kid with a brain injury which took a long time since I had to dismount his backrest and mount the new one into two different positions.


I liked this kid. He struggled with every word he said, but as long as he was allowed time to form all of his words, everything he said was just as adequate as it was friendly.


What does this have to do with beauty??


This visit took about 2½ hours. I'm racking my brain trying to recall if during that time I saw this OT offer any type of smile at any point. No.


In the Swedish language there's a pretty clear distinction between being "serious - seriös" and being "grave - allvarlig". For some reason though I find that a lot of people, especially therapists, teachers, or any other kind of experts have a hard time differentiating between the two. Or else they just don't dare do it. Like you will lose face as far as your competence goes if you smile or are too sociable. It seems like some people are very suspicious of generally happy people - like there's some kind of catch or else they will be drawn into a cult should they give in to the jovial pressure.


My point is, this particular OT would have been utterly stunning if she could have been open enough to her surroundings to at least offer some warmth by showing some teeth :-).

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Judie - 20 februari 2009 19:25

I've moved my blog to:   http://yogamammaexhales.blogspot.com/   Hope to see you there!! :-) Judie ...

Av Judie - 19 februari 2009 20:21

...unless I am being chased by a bear.   Which doesn't happen too often. What has happened again is that when I got on my mat to do my practice, my fear came back. Since I have a level 2-3 class on Sunday I decided to give level 3  a try for the ...

Av Judie - 18 februari 2009 22:52

Today has been a tough day.   I've been provoked, and even though I knew what was coming, after 2½ hours I cracked. Not very yogic.   I had my first Body Balance class in two months, and as expected, I'm not exactly at my peak. Still I feel f...

Av Judie - 17 februari 2009 20:33

I love living in Sweden. And there's a lot in the U.S. that could stand improvement. Remember that as you keep reading my short list of complaints.   Or actually read about my one big complaint:   This morning as I was brushing the snow off my ca...

Av Judie - 16 februari 2009 20:51

Right now I am feeling almost too tired to get out of my chair. This is typical right after putting the kids to bed. I remember it being very important to my husband and me that our children got to bed early every evening (8 P.M.) so that we could ha...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards