Direktlänk till inlägg 27 januari 2009

A new path?

Av Judie - 27 januari 2009 18:09

I've said it before: Life will deal out the lessons you need to learn until you learn them.


Tomorrow I will be having some minor surgery done. Some women my age have facelifts. I, too, will be lifted, just in a different area as a result of my two deliveries. I remember promising myself in the delivery room just as my son was emerging that this would be the LAST time I ever did this. However I expect I'll be experiencing some similar "discomfort" after this procedure.


Anyway I won't be allowed to do any exercising (i.e. no yoga) for the next three weeks. And with my daughter being home sick, I won't even be able to sneak one last pass in before checking into the hospital tomorrow. (And I won't be able to go to the seaside sauna tonight either - bummer.)


They (someone with authority, that is) claim that it takes three weeks to start a new habit. Is it possible that I could use this time to actually incorporate meditation into my routines? Will that help ease the anxiety I expect to feel by not getting my alone-fix that follows with me working out?


Will the days start to get lighter just long enough for me to get back to my early morning walks by the stream?


I admit that I am in fact addicted to the endorphine kick I get from physical exertion. I consider it a healthy addiction (nothing that I go overboard with - just too lazy for that), but an addiction no less. I like myself better after a workout. At least it's easier for me to be with me afterwards, since I enjoy the freshness of clearing my brain equally.


The time will pass quickly, I know. Two years ago I broke my hand two weeks before I started my yoga instructor course. Not a problem at all for my teacher. She said I could sit in the "convalescent corner" (jokingly). There is so much more to yoga than the physical art of holding positions.


I guess I needed to be reminded of that again, now that I'm now onto the next level physically. Maybe I need a pause so that I can try to catch up mentally.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Judie - 20 februari 2009 19:25

I've moved my blog to:   http://yogamammaexhales.blogspot.com/   Hope to see you there!! :-) Judie ...

Av Judie - 19 februari 2009 20:21

...unless I am being chased by a bear.   Which doesn't happen too often. What has happened again is that when I got on my mat to do my practice, my fear came back. Since I have a level 2-3 class on Sunday I decided to give level 3  a try for the ...

Av Judie - 18 februari 2009 22:52

Today has been a tough day.   I've been provoked, and even though I knew what was coming, after 2½ hours I cracked. Not very yogic.   I had my first Body Balance class in two months, and as expected, I'm not exactly at my peak. Still I feel f...

Av Judie - 17 februari 2009 20:33

I love living in Sweden. And there's a lot in the U.S. that could stand improvement. Remember that as you keep reading my short list of complaints.   Or actually read about my one big complaint:   This morning as I was brushing the snow off my ca...

Av Judie - 16 februari 2009 20:51

Right now I am feeling almost too tired to get out of my chair. This is typical right after putting the kids to bed. I remember it being very important to my husband and me that our children got to bed early every evening (8 P.M.) so that we could ha...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards