Alla inlägg den 5 februari 2009

Av Judie - 5 februari 2009 14:34

I've spent the day trying to organize my papers in a pathetic attempt to find some order in my (professional) life. It's a battle I will never win as I've never been good with paper; neither when I write, nor when I have to store.


Going through some notebooks I decided to even gather my yoga teachings, seeing as I've used several different notebooks sporadically. In each of these notebooks I've even written journal entries. I've always admired people who keep diaries, and more than once I thought I could try keeping one myself. This usually occurred at some more depressing point in my life when I was seeking a change, and I thought that writing would have a therapeutic effect on me.


Looking back, I'm sorry to say that keeping a diary and writing down my blues (even though I tried to give myself small pep-talks at the same time) didn't seem to help me much. Even now, when I reread my entries and realize I've come a long way from for example my worst period in life (which was when I turned 30, had a newborn, and P & I were in the middle of a horrific 7-year-itch), it almost reawakens the sorrow and feelings of being a lost soul.


Now I'm getting more and more into keeping a blog, and the difference this time is that I look forward to writing these small, awkward entries :-). I look back on them and feel both a sense of warmth and accomplishment. Maybe it's because instead of doting on the different events of my day, I just decide on a topic and go with it.


Tonight I am meeting a fantastic group of women to discuss the birth of the long awaited yoga studio at my gym. We're going to try to hold a series of classes for women and focus on stressyoga.


My yoga teacher, Josephine, wrote something really worthwhile in her latest book, "Våga yoga". She had asked one of her first teachers if yoga helped her with stress. Her teacher answered that learning yoga lowered her stress tolerance level. In other words, she discovered it's better to change your life to better serve your needs, rather than obsess with changing yourself to meet the challenges of the day.

Tidigare månad - Senare månad
Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards