Direktlänk till inlägg 6 februari 2009

Dream Vacation & Lego Star Wars

Av Judie - 6 februari 2009 17:03

Dream Vacation: not as sexy as it may seem. It's the stallion that is going to be paired with my husband's mare for nothing less than a king's ransom. Let's just hope that the foal created will not have an extra leg coming out of its forehead.


When my husband first decided on buying a horse (for trotter racing), I couldn't believe it. I was pregnant and suffering from constant and extreme nausea, and he felt compelled to get himself a horse. I have nothing against horses; I think they're fascinating creatures, but unfortunately I am also deathly allergic to them so I can't have anything to do with them.


Over the years we have had many battles about this "hobby", seeing as how I have felt it is both time consuming and pretty damn costly (at least if the horse doesn't make any money). It's taken me years to realize and accept that this is his calling. If he is able to do this, he's happy. If he's happy, it makes it a lot easier for me to do things that make me happy. Plus it's easier to be happy when your spouse is happy.


So sitting here on the couch, I watch as my kids tag-team with Lego Star Wars. P, who just came home from work, is reading his mail (you know, the paper kind), and he hands me this latest breeding contract with a list of expenses: Vet fee, stall fee, cost at birth of live foal, etc.


Let's put it this way: the stallion should change his name to Dream Vacations, you know what I'm saying?


But seriously, I'm OK with it. We've had so many discussions (=arguments), but somewhere along the way we've also learned to negotiate out a deal that we both can live with (Can you tell I love Dr. Phil ;-) ??)

Dare I say we've progressed in our relationship???

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Judie - 20 februari 2009 19:25

I've moved my blog to:   http://yogamammaexhales.blogspot.com/   Hope to see you there!! :-) Judie ...

Av Judie - 19 februari 2009 20:21

...unless I am being chased by a bear.   Which doesn't happen too often. What has happened again is that when I got on my mat to do my practice, my fear came back. Since I have a level 2-3 class on Sunday I decided to give level 3  a try for the ...

Av Judie - 18 februari 2009 22:52

Today has been a tough day.   I've been provoked, and even though I knew what was coming, after 2½ hours I cracked. Not very yogic.   I had my first Body Balance class in two months, and as expected, I'm not exactly at my peak. Still I feel f...

Av Judie - 17 februari 2009 20:33

I love living in Sweden. And there's a lot in the U.S. that could stand improvement. Remember that as you keep reading my short list of complaints.   Or actually read about my one big complaint:   This morning as I was brushing the snow off my ca...

Av Judie - 16 februari 2009 20:51

Right now I am feeling almost too tired to get out of my chair. This is typical right after putting the kids to bed. I remember it being very important to my husband and me that our children got to bed early every evening (8 P.M.) so that we could ha...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards