Direktlänk till inlägg 7 februari 2009

Church chat (and I'm NOT the Church Lady!)

Av Judie - 7 februari 2009 18:28

I grew up in a strictly Catholic home. Besides being taught the joys of bearing eternal Catholic guilt, I learned discipline, faith, and how to stand up to your beliefs  - qualities I value and hope to pass on to my own children. I consider myself to be a spiritual person; I just don't buy into the Catholic ideology, stopped doing so when I was a teenager.


Still, when the local church deals out invitations to the village's 4- and 5-year-olds, inviting them to join them one Saturday a month for 2½ hours, both my son and I bolt to the door. I get an entire morning to surf a while on the Internet, do laundry, clean up, and buy groceries. He gets to play, sing songs, and I guess listen to stories about Jesus. I've understood that ice cream is also involved in this "indoctrination".


Call me cynical, call me evil, but I couldn't care less. I got 2½ hours of peace, and he had a great time.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Judie - 20 februari 2009 19:25

I've moved my blog to:   http://yogamammaexhales.blogspot.com/   Hope to see you there!! :-) Judie ...

Av Judie - 19 februari 2009 20:21

...unless I am being chased by a bear.   Which doesn't happen too often. What has happened again is that when I got on my mat to do my practice, my fear came back. Since I have a level 2-3 class on Sunday I decided to give level 3  a try for the ...

Av Judie - 18 februari 2009 22:52

Today has been a tough day.   I've been provoked, and even though I knew what was coming, after 2½ hours I cracked. Not very yogic.   I had my first Body Balance class in two months, and as expected, I'm not exactly at my peak. Still I feel f...

Av Judie - 17 februari 2009 20:33

I love living in Sweden. And there's a lot in the U.S. that could stand improvement. Remember that as you keep reading my short list of complaints.   Or actually read about my one big complaint:   This morning as I was brushing the snow off my ca...

Av Judie - 16 februari 2009 20:51

Right now I am feeling almost too tired to get out of my chair. This is typical right after putting the kids to bed. I remember it being very important to my husband and me that our children got to bed early every evening (8 P.M.) so that we could ha...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards